CASHING IN: The Next Generation
Following in the tradition of Michael Finkel and Michael Wolff, disgraced journo Stephen Glass, who invented items for at least 27 of the 41stories he wrote for the New Republic stories and got caught, is out promoting his new novel, The Fabulist, about a young writer who climbs the ladder through–hey–faking quotes. A story in the Washington Post today quotes Glass telling “60 minutes” correspondent Steve Kroft: “I lied to the people who were my co-workers and cared about me. I lied to my family. I lied to my editors. I lied to all of the readers, and I lied to the people I was writing about.”
No doubt Glass will join many others in that special circle of hell that has $1.MM houses, expensive cars, successful books, and powerful friends.